'Join us in Paradise!'
The Smaller Islands (The Chinijo Archipelago)
Stacks Image 504
Around 10 million holidaymakers visit the Canary Islands each year, which include: Tenerife, Fuerteventura, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote, La Palma, La Gomera and El Hierro.

There are also smaller and mostly uninhabited islands, known as the Chinijo Archipelago. These include: La Graciosa, Alegranza, Montaña Clara, Roque del Oeste, Roque de Este and Los Lobos. Each island is unique and offers something for everyone. The smaller islands provide more privacy and a quieter atmosphere than their larger counterparts.

La Graciosa is the only inhabited island in the Chinijo Archipelago, all of which form part of the largest marine reserve in Europe and is an area of outstanding natural beauty. Please see separate page for more information.

Stacks Image 505

Montaña Clara (The Light-coloured Mountain)

Montaña Clara is the smallest island and remains uninhabited by man. This 300-year dormant volcanic island is home to the protected white-faced storm-petrels. The island is only 1.33 km² and the highest point of the island is 256 m above sea level.
Stacks Image 506
Alegranza (The Island of Joy)

The second-smallest island is Alegranza is also uninhabited and is home to a variety of flora and fauna. Similar to Montana Clara, it features a large crater from a dormant volcano and a beach. Alegranza is part of the municipality of Teguise, Lanzarote.

Many species of lizard, including the Canary Gecko which is found nowhere else on earth, thrive on the smaller islands. Endangered birds including the petrel, shearwater, Egyptian vulture and the peregrine falcon make their homes on the cliffs surrounding the smaller islands.
The island features a volcano with a crater of about 1.1 km in diameter and an altitude of 289 m.The northern portion is mainly flat. The lighthouse of Punta Delgada is located in the eastern part of Alegranza. The lighthouse was first built in 1865 and was designated a historic monument.
Stacks Image 508
Los Lobos (Wolf Island)

Los Lobos is the small spit of rock, visible from Playa Blanca, which sits in front of Corralejo in Fuerteventura. It belongs to the municipality of La Olivia. It has an area of 4.6 km². It has been a nature reserve without permanent human population since 1982. The island is accessible to tourists via a short ferry ride from Correlejo. It has day facilities and weekend homes of local fishermen. The lighthouse was automated in 1968.

The island's name means wolves in Spanish but the origin relates to sea rather than land mammals. Up until the 19th century monk seals, also colloquially known as sea wolves, colonised the island.
Los Lobos is a protected Nature Reserve and is of great interest to nature lovers, as it has an abundance of rare flora and fauna.

Visitors can explore the entire island on foot, marvel at the views across to both Lanzarote and Fuerteventura or just relax on one of the small, beautiful beaches.

For more information about this beautiful and unique island, please click here to go to the island's own page.